One Republic Under God- A Patriotic Band

Leave a comment

January 23, 2015 by JImbo

Does anyone else see this as a Libertarian themed video?

Bear with me now.

I know folks will see it and see “oh some corrupt preacher or something.”

But look further.

It’s a very diverse group of people voluntarily gathering while the world crumbles around them. They are all ages, all races. They are “doing their own thing”, not strictly obeying a hierarchy or church.

They’re hiding in an abandoned place, an “underground” meeting so to speak.

Now consider the lyrics.

Lyrics for Counting Stars By OneRepublic
  • Lately I been, I been losing sleep
    Dreaming ’bout the things that we could be
    But baby I been, I been prayin’ hard
    Said no more counting dollars
    We’ll be counting stars
    Yeah, we’ll be counting stars
  • I see this life
    Like a swinging vine
    Swing my heart across the line
    In my faces flashing signs
    Seek it out and ye shall find
    The old, but I’m not that old
    Young, but I’m not that bold
    And I don’t think the world is sold
    I’m just doing what we’re told
    I, feel something so right
    But doing the wrong thing
    I, feel something so wrong
    But doing the right thing
    I could lie, could lie, could lie
    Everything that kills me makes me feel alive
  • Lately I been, I been losing sleep
    Dreaming ’bout the things that we could be
    Baby I been, I been prayin’ hard
    Said no more counting dollars
    We’ll be counting stars
    Lately I been, I been losing sleep
    Dreaming ’bout the things that we could be
    But baby I been, I been prayin’ hard
    Said no more counting dollars
    We’ll be, we’ll be counting stars
  • I feel the love
    And I feel it burn
    Down this river every turn
    Hope is a four letter word
    Make that money
    Watch it burn
    Old, but I’m not that old
    Young, but I’m not that bold
    And I don’t think the world is sold
    I’m just doing what we’re told
    I, feel something so wrong
    But doing the right thing
    I could lie, could lie, could lie
    Everything that drowns me makes me wanna fly
  • Lately I been, I been losing sleep
    Dreaming about the things that we could be
    Baby I been, I been prayin’ hard
    Said no more counting dollars
    We’ll be counting stars
    Lately I been, I been losing sleep
    Dreaming ’bout the things that we could be
    But baby I been, I been prayin’ hard
    Said no more counting dollars
    We’ll be, we’ll be counting stars
  • Take that money and watch it burn
    Sink in the river the lessons I learned
  • Take that money and watch it burn
    Sink in the river the lessons I learned
  • Take that money and watch it burn
    Sink in the river the lessons I learned
  • Take that money and watch it burn
    Sink in the river the lessons I learned
  • Everything that kills me makes me feel alive
  • Lately I been, I been losing sleep
    Dreaming ’bout the things that we could be
    Baby I been, I been prayin’ hard
    Said no more counting dollars
    We’ll be counting stars
    Lately I been, I been losing sleep
    Dreaming ’bout the things that we could be
    Baby I been, I been prayin’ hard
    Said no more counting dollars
    We’ll be, we’ll be counting stars
  • (Take that money and watch it burn)
    (Sink in the river the lessons I learned)
  • (Take that money and watch it burn)
    (Sink in the river the lessons I learned)
  • (Take that money and watch it burn)
    (Sink in the river the lessons I learned)
  • (Take that money and watch it burn)
    (Sink in the river the lessons I learned)
    It’s not about money. It’s not about obeying the “rules.”
    It’s about freedom.
    Repeatedly we are told about how different the “right thing” makes you feel bad. The “wrong thing” makes you feel good.
    That doesn’t sound like religion. Why would he be praying if he doesn’t like religion?
    Sounds like unfair government laws to me. An authoritarian government that dislikes religion, freedom, individual rights.
    To me this looks more like a “Tea Party” group than anything else.
    Speaking out against the status quo and corporate/government cronyism.
    But that’s my take.
    What do you see?
    Some other interesting interpretations.
Leave a Reply

