Sports Talk, Lack Thereof

Leave a comment

September 8, 2014 by JImbo

 

I generally keep out of sports related news for a couple reasons.

The first is that I don’t care for most sports.

Baseball and Football are about all I follow regularly.

The rest really don’t interest me. It’s fine if you love them. I just don’t get any excitement or thrill from watching Basketball or Volleyball or Soccer.

Booooooring.

The other reason is that VERY few media people every want to talk about things on the field anymore. Most of what you get is “behind the scenes” garbage. I know this makes me a horrible person but I don’t GIVE A CRAP what they do off the field.

I don’t.

They can be saints.

They can be sinners.

Their mom can have cancer.

They can volunteer 1,000 hours a week at the soup kitchen.

I don’t care.

I have NEVER met these people. I most likely will NEVER meet these people. I’m fine with that.

Play the damn game.

I don’t get points on my fantasy football team if you helped a little old lady across the street. Conversely, I’m not penalized if you beat your wife. Yes, I understand that’s BAD. It’s REPREHENSIBLE. However, that’s up to the POLICE and TEAM OWNERS to deal with.

I don’t need an in-depth biography of my cashier at Wal Mart.

I don’t need to join in a public shaming of my mechanic.

If they did something illegal, then call the police.

If they did something immoral or that looks bad for the team, then call the owner.

All this sensationalism is over the top.

Is Ray Rice a rotten bastard who deserves a beat-down? Sure. Looks like he knocked his fiancee senseless.

If it’s a criminal act, the police should be handling this. But wait… the fiancee then MARRIED the guy AFTER this.

Well if she’s okay with it….

I wonder if she’ll still be alright with it after he loses his multi million dollar contract?

And the whole Michael Sam thing… so what? He’s gay. Big deal.

Why is the NFL shopping him around the league BEGGING teams to take him? Do they really think that’ll bring fans?

As if gay guys who don’t watch football are suddenly going to start watching football because “Ohmigod there’s a gay guy on there! FAB-U-LOUS!”

 Isn’t the insulting to be assumed that you’ll tune in to a sports game just because of your sexuality? That’s seems offensive to me and I’m not even gay. Are they assuming gay guys aren’t watching football to begin with? I’d like to see the study that proves that because I’m not convinced that gay guys don’t watch football, or at any different rate than straight guys do.

Who knows? I really don’t care enough to bother to conduct a poll or anything. I just know that ASSUMING what one’s behavior will be based solely on their sexuality is wrong.

It’s almost like assuming most black people will vote Democrat just because the presidential candidate is black.

Oh wait…

See?

THIS is why I don’t discuss sports.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

